This is what I am going to DO

This is what I am going to DO

I like this blog.

I like the idea of writing whatever I want and that there might be someone, however remote, who might take an interest.

Following from that, I like using my typewriter to write short pieces of text.

These short pieces of text can be quite self-serving, but they can also be surreal stories, peoms or anecdotes that may be of interest to you.

What I am going to do is put these typewritten pieces up on the blog.

This is good for a couple of reasons;

  • I like writing them
  • You might like reading them
  • They don;t go on and on; generally i’ll stop at one page.
  • They are spontaneous and, as far as can make them, ‘true’. That is, I am not trying to contrive some end purpose or result, i just enjoy doing it for the sake of doing it.

So, what I will do is put up a ‘typewriter bubble’ every day or so. I may dip into my back catalogue (as I will do for the first one, just to see if it works – i.e. if its readable).

This will interest me and, the good lord willing, you.

These pieces have not been published or otherwise shown to the public before. I hope that this will not alter the way that I write them. I’m not sure if that matters.

About seven years ago I wrote something and someone said ’tis is of no interest to us, it’s boring, whay would we want to hear this?’. this hurt and I didn’t put any more of my writing out there again.

No doubt this will happen again, thanks to the multitude of opinons out there on the internet. We will just have to see how it goes.

I am going to write a new page called Claimer/Disclaimer, that will attempt to set out what I am trying to do and not do with the ‘typwriter bubbles’ (I’m for-ever blow-ing bubbles…)

Here goes then! Thanks for watching…

Cheers,

Philip

2 Comments

Filed under diary, thought

2 responses to “This is what I am going to DO

  1. Susan Mildenhall

    “About seven years ago I wrote something and someone said…” – how powerful a critic can be! Why is that? Why do we take any notice at all?

    On the other hand, one might say that your writing is lucid and dryly entertaining and your ideas are interesting, but this is Britain and we can’t have anyone boasting.

  2. Susan Mildenhall

    Secondly, I drove a crunchy old Micra today and loved it. So *mechanical* and, well, crunchy. This is what you are getting from your typewriter. It’s the mechnical crunch. It’s, well, it’s up there with chocolate, really.

Leave a Reply

